FR EN
arrow-bottom
arrow-bottom

Sowing lavender

SOWING LAVENDER

Lavender seeds germinate slowly. They usually take between 2 and 4 weeks to germinate, although the latecomers can wait until 2 or 3 months before germinating. The number of seeds which germinate can vary. Several factors influence the time and the rate of germination, of which the culture conditions. The seeds of lavender need a damp and warm environment to germinate but also special care, love and patience.

SOAKING SEEDS & PREPARATION

Soaking the seeds during 24 hours into a small bowl of warm water can accelerate their germination.

Use a 10 cm pot (4 inches). Your pot must be new or disinfected and provided with several drainage holes. Fill the pot with the growing media or sowing compost of your choice. Put aside 15 ml (1 tablespoon) of growing media or dry compost. Dip the pot or planter into warm water, until its content is wet.


SOWING

Place the seeds in the palm of your hand. Take a few seeds at the time with a small spatula or your fingers and scatter them on your growing media’s surface. Cover the seeds with 15 ml of the growing media that you put aside. Tap the surface with your fingertips to make sure that seeds are mixed with the compost or growing media. Write down the sowing date on a stick or on your pot. Cover with a wet newspaper or a dark plastic bag.


CARE

Install your pot or planter in a warm place 20 °C day and night. You can also place it directly on a source of heat which will warm it from under. Uncover the pot every morning and every evening to aerate and verify the evolution of the seeds. If the compost is dry, spray warm water on it. As soon as the first plants appear, remove the newspaper or bag permanently and place it in light position – 12 hours a day.


TRANSPLANTATION

When the first two real leaves appear – over the cotyledons which grew first – transplant carefully in individual pots. Wait in June to transplant outside your 12 to 16 weeks old plantation.

FR  EN 
arrow-bottom
arrow-bottom

Semis de lavande

Les semences de lavande germent lentement. Elles prennent habituellement entre 2 et 4 semaines et les retardataires peuvent attendre jusqu’à 2 ou 3 mois avant de germer. Le nombre de semences qui germent est variable. Plusieurs facteurs influencent le temps et le taux de germination, dont les conditions de culture. Les semences de lavande ont besoin d’un milieu humide et chaud pour germer, mais aussi de soins prodigués avec vigilance et patience.

TREMPAGE DES SEMENCES

Tremper les semences 24 h dans un petit bol d’eau tiède peut accélérer la germination.

PRÉPARATION

Utiliser un pot de 10 cm (4 po) neuf ou désinfecté et muni de plusieurs trous de drainage. Remplir avec le médium de culture contenu dans le sac ou avec un terreau à semis de votre choix. Mettre de côté 15 ml (1 c. à soupe) de médium ou de terreau sec. Tremper le pot ou le contenant dans un bassin d’eau tiède jusqu’à ce que le contenu soit humide.

SEMIS

Placer des semences dans la paume de la main. À l’aide d’une petite spatule ou de vos doigts, prélever quelques semences à la fois et les disperser sur la surface. Couvrir les semences avec 15 ml de médium de culture sec mis de côté. Tapoter la surface du bout des doigts pour s’assurer que les semences soient bien en contact avec le terreau ou le médium de culture. Inscrire la date sur un bâtonnet ou sur le pot. Couvrir avec un papier journal mouillé ou un sac de plastique opaque.

SOINS

Installer le pot ou le contenant dans un endroit chaud (20 °C) jour et nuit. Idéalement, le placer sur une source de chaleur qui le chauffera par-dessous. Découvrir tous les matins et tous les soirs pour aérer et vérifier l’évolution. Si le terreau sèche, l’humidifier à l’aide d’un vaporisateur contenant de l’eau tiède. Dès que les premières pousses apparaissent, découvrir en permanence et placer dans un endroit bien éclairé 12 heures par jour.

TRANSPLANTATION

Lorsque les plantules auront deux vraies feuilles – au-dessus des deux cotylédons qui ont poussé en premier – transplanter soigneusement dans des pots individuels. Attendre en juin pour transplanter à l’extérieur les plants âgés de 12 à 16 semaines.